BREAKDOWN: How President Buhari cruised to victory in Ogun State Presidential polls

President Buhari

BREAKDOWN: How President Buhari cruised to victory in Ogun State Presidential polls

Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress won 14 out of the 20 local government areas in Ogun State with a score 281,762 votes while his counterpart Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party had 194,655 votes after winning six areas.


Professor Adeola-Fuwape, Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure disclosed at Independent Electoral Commission national collation centre that the total number of registered voters in the state was 2,336,887 while the total number of accredited voters was 613,397.


He added that the number of valid votes was 564,256and the total number of votes cast was 605, 938 while 41,682 votes were rejected.


Below is the breakdown of how each of the 20 LGAs voted


IFO LG – APC: 23,895 PDP: 8,968


ADO ODO OTA LG – APC: 34,148 PDP: 20,352


ABEOKUTA SOUTH LG – APC: 26,462 PDP: 13,853


IKENNE LG – APC:10,283 PDP: 8,708


OBAFEMI OWODE LG – APC:16,243 PDP: 7,938


EGBADO SOUTH LG – APC: 12,934 PDP: 10,709




IMEKO AFON LG – APC:6,425 PDP:6,689


SAGAMU LG – APC : 20,875 PDP:16,532


ABEOKUTA NORTH LG – APC: 22,044 PDP: 7,528


ODEDA LG – APC: 10,049 PDP:4,995


REMO NORTH LG – APC: 5,659 PDP:6,269




IJEBU ODE LG – APC: 12,850 PDP: 7,253


EWEKORO LG – APC :10,060 PDP:5101


IJEBU NORTH LG – APC: 13,974 PDP: 16,196


ODOGBOLU LG – APC: 10, 130 PDP: 10, 137


IPOKIA LG – APC: 14686 PDP: 12313


YEWA NORTH LG – APC: 10434 PDP: 10388


IJEBU EAST LG – APC: 7287 PDP:  7315


Following his victory in the Gateway State, the incumbent President went ahead to win his re-election after polling 15,191,847 votes across the nation to defeat his closest rival Alhaji Atiku Abubakar who gathered 11,262,978 with a margin of 3,928,869 votes.

Post a Comment

#Follow us on Instagram